BSDHT Award winners at OHC 2017

Event News
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

BSDHT announces Dr Leatherman Award winner and Student of the Year at OHC 2017

During the Oral Health Conference 2017, the British Society of Dental Hygiene and Therapy (BSDHT) announced that the winner of this year’s Dr Leatherman Award was Patricia Macpherson (above left).

Established in memory of Dr Gerald Leatherman to reflect “true dedication, professionalism and determination for the good of the profession”, the Award is held in high regard among the profession.

BSDHT President, Helen Minnery, described Patricia as “a truly inspirational woman” who has been committed to the BSDHT for over 40 years, “remaining steadfast in her support of colleagues”.

When accepting her award, Patricia said: “The BSDHT is the body that represents you, nationally….Without the society, I don’t think I would have achieved what I have… I am truly touched and very grateful.”

Helen Minnery continued: “A very deserving winner, the BSDHT would like to extend many congratulations to Patricia.”

BSDHT Student of the Year Award

The BSDHT has this year announced a new student award. To be eligible, each entrant had to have been awarded the BSDHT graduation prize from their university.

Student of the Year was awarded to Madelaine Pearce (above centre). Sponsored and presented by Henry Schein, Madelaine was described as “an asset to the profession” and a “super-role model”.

She said: “I was delighted to have won the BSDHT Student Award upon graduating from Portsmouth University, but I had no idea I had been put forward for the national Student of the Year Award. It was therefore a great surprise to discover that I had won – I’m really honoured to have received recognition on a national level.”

The Society extended warm congratulations to Madelaine, and indeed all the regional BSDHT Student Award winners.

For more information about the BSDHT, visit,
or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.