BDA honours outstanding dentists for 2017

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

13 dentists recognised by BDA 2017 Honours and Awards, and first ever Joy Harrild Award announced

Mick Armstrong, BDA Chair (above) said: “We are delighted to announce these thirteen exemplary individuals as our 2017 honours and awards recipients. We’re pleased to see such a wide breadth of nominations this year, from a diverse range of fields of practice and age.

“The BDA’s Honours and Awards are open to everyone – we want to find those dentists who have shown passion for, and a commitment to, advancing dentistry. We strongly encourage nominations from all areas of dentistry for 2018. If you know of a dentist who you think has gone that extra mile, then please nominate them to ensure they get recognition for what they do.”

Outstanding academic career
Honorary Membership is to be conferred on Professor Dayananda Samarawickrama, for his outstanding contribution to dentistry, including his teaching and research work, as well his international work. Professor Samarawickrama is Emeritus Professor of Conservative Dentistry, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University of London.

Community dentists honoured and remembered
Four community dentists have been recognised in this year’s round.
Community dentist, Christine Arnold, is bestowed Life Membership for her long and valuable service, particularly at BDA Branch and Section level.
Retired community dentist, Rosemary Rabin, is awarded Certificate of Merit for Services to the Association for her great work volunteering for the BDA Museum, and for being a fantastic advocate for the profession.
Young community dentist Janine Doughty was awarded the Certificate of Merit for Services to the Association. Janine has been passionate about standing up for vulnerable patients and combatting social exclusion.

Dentists across the UK recognised
Two frontline GDPs in England have been recognised for their work.
Specialist in Prosthodontics, Shelagh Farrell is awarded Fellowship for her commitment to teaching and learning, and her involvement at BDA Branch and Section level.
Jerry Asquith is awarded Life Membership, for his work on behalf of the profession, working for a better deal for dentists at the national level, as well as his work championing students and younger dentists.

Northern Ireland dentist Seamus Killough is awarded Fellowship for supporting the BDA locally and nationally, and for his commitment to the profession, and two Scottish dentists have also been singled out for their contributions.
Andrew Lamb, is conferred Fellowship for his outstanding and distinguished service as BDA Scotland Director for nine years and his illustrious 30-year career as a dentist prior to that. Consultant orthodontist Adrian Hart is awarded Distinguished Membership of the BDA for his outstanding work in helping to govern the BDA and his personal commitment to the profession.

Welsh dentist, Gareth Lloyd, is awarded Fellowship for his selfless commitment to his profession and the wider community. Gareth has long been involved with training and education, as well as contributing on a variety of BDA Committees and lobbying nationally.

BDA President and staff honoured
Susie Sanderson OBE, was ratified as BDA President Elect at the BDA Conference in May this year, and will take up office in May 2018. Susie’s career has included over 40 years as a dentist, and she has represented the BDA both nationally and internationally. She was also elected Speaker of the FDI General Assembly in September this year.
The BDA’s Associate Director of Learning and Professional Development, Lesley Derry has been entered onto the Roll of Distinction, for her work supporting members.

Joy Harrild: Tragedy and recognition
Last December the BDA was struck by a tragic event. Joy Harrild, a community dentist and a committed contributor to the BDA young dentist committee, was killed in a road traffic accident. A spokesperson said: "Joy’s contribution to the BDA was immense. The Young Dentists Committee and the Honours and Awards Committee wanted to recognise that contribution and have posthumously awarded Joy a Certificate of Merit for Services to the Association. Such was Joy’s enthusiasm and example, the BDA has established a new honour in her name. The Joy Harrild Award for Young Dentists."

First ever winner of the Joy Harrild Award
BDA said it was delighted to announced Imran Asghar as the first year ever recipient of the Joy Harrild Award for Young Dentists. Amongst the many outstanding nominations for this Award, Imran stood out for his range of work both in the UK and overseas, and his commitment to his personal development.