BDA Honours and Awards

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

14 dentists honoured by BDA for outstanding achievements

Fourteen dentists have been honoured in the annual round of BDA Honours and Awards for their outstanding achievements, and their commitment to the BDA and the dental profession as a whole.

Professor Paul Speight (top) is awarded a John Tomes Medal for his impressive academic career and research work which has been recognised internationally, as well as in the UK.

Professor Helen Worthington, Director of Evidence for Practice at the School of Dentistry at the University of Manchester is awarded a John Tomes Medal for her work championing evidence-based oral healthcare.

Two long-standing community dentists have been recognised, Helen Pailthorpe receives a Fellowship for her work with the community service and Michelle Slater, Life Membership for her dedication as a special care dentist.

Four dentists in general practice working across England are being recognised for their contributions to dentistry for services to the BDA: Victor Chan receives a Fellowship; Malcolm Heath receives Life Membership; and Gary Irvine and Colin Silcox both receive a Certificate of Merit.

Former BDA Branches and Sections Liaison Officer, Sue Jones receives a Roll of Distinction for her long career supporting local groups across the UK.

Retired hospital dentist, Dr Paul David Cheshire has been honoured with a Certificate of Merit for providing exemplary care to complex dental patients throughout his career.

Northern Ireland dentist and former BDA Northern Ireland Director, Claudette Christie is awarded Life Membership for her long career with the BDA.

BDA Museum volunteer Roland Hopwood is given a Certificate of Merit for his dedication to developing the BDA Museum’s collection over many years.

A champion of overseas dental voluntary work, Ian Wilson is given a Certificate of Merit for his impressive contribution to improving dental care in developing countries.

The second-ever recipient of the BDA Joy Harrild Award for Young Dentists is Dipesh Kothari, a GDP working in London, for demonstrating a great personal commitment and passion for his profession.

Acting BDA Chief Executive Martin Woodrow (above) said: “We are delighted to announce these fourteen honours and awards recipients. It’s great to see the breadth of recipients from across the profession, and those supporting the profession, reflecting the excellent range of nominations we received. Congratulations to everyone.

"Once again in 2019, we want to find dentists who have shown a commitment to advancing dentistry. We strongly encourage nominations from all areas of the profession. Please consider nominating any colleague your think deserves recognition for what they do."

The recipients will formally receive their honours at a ceremony at BDA in London on 2 May 2019.